A Trip To Spa City

“Look deep into nature and then you will understand everything better” – Albert Einstein

One of the benefits of growing up in central Arkansas is that you are only a few hours drive away from some of the most beautiful places.  One of my absolute favorites is a little place called Hot Springs.  It is one of the coolest towns in Arkansas, there is so much history and culture.  The town is most famous as being a favorite hang out of Al Capone, but also because it is home to bath house row.  People used to travel from all over to bathe in the natural hot springs that were said to have healing properties.  Every year around Christmas my family and I take a day trip down to Hot Springs to shop and eat and walk through the lights at Garvan Woodland Gardens.  There is so much to do and see in Hot Springs and even though I have been going practically my entire life I never get bored or tired of going.  Here are some of my favorite spots in the Spa City.

1. Shop Central Ave.

Aka. Historic downtown Hot Springs. There are so many unique shops on Central Ave.  Some of my favorites include Chez Julie, Blu Lily, and The Villa.  There is something for everyone on Central Ave.

2. Visit the Arlington Hotel

You don’t have to stay in the hotel (because lets face it, it is expensive) but I do recommend going inside and walking around the lobby.  It is beautiful, the architecture is absolutely amazing

3. Visit a Bath House on Bath House Row

There are about 6 different bath houses and they are all absolutely beautiful.  And the really cool part is that they are all still functioning so for a price you are able to treat yourself to spa like soaking in the natural Hot Springs.

4. Take a walk through the Hot Springs Natural Park

There are trails of all different lengths in the park and the views are incredible, Arkansas is called The Natural State for a reason my friends.

5. Walk through the Christmas Lights at Garvan Woodland Gardens

Of course this only applies if its Christmas but it is worth mentioning.  Every year the lights are bigger and more elaborate.  Its so much fun walking through the gardens looking at all the light with my loved ones.

Keep and eye out friends  for more about my favorite places in The Natural State

Leave a comment